Log in
Log in

Featured Speaker

The keynote speaker for our 2023 conference is Trevor Dawes

Keynote Theme: Building an Inclusive (Hybrid) Organizational Culture

Building an inclusive organizational culture is crucial for creating a workplace where all employees feel valued and supported. Creating this culture in a hybrid environment also brings a unique set of challenges. An inclusive culture promotes diversity, equity, and belonging, which not only leads to higher employee engagement and job satisfaction but also results in better business outcomes. Inclusive workplaces attract and retain top talent, increase innovation and creativity, and foster a culture of respect and collaboration. By embracing diversity and creating a safe and supportive environment for all employees, organizations can improve productivity, build stronger relationships with customers and stakeholders, and contribute to a more equitable and just society. In this presentation, Dawes will discuss actions being taken at his library to create and maintain an inclusive culture.

Supported by our generous Gold Level sponsors

Trevor Dawes

Vice Provost for Libraries and Museums & May Morris University Librarian, University of Delaware
Vice President/President Elect of the Association of Research Libraries

Trevor A. Dawes has worked in the academic library sector for over 20 years developing and providing service-enhancing training and professional development opportunities that positively impact library-wide projects and programs. Dawes also facilitates workshops on leadership development and diversity, improving the knowledge, skills, competencies, and abilities of librarians and library workers. A published author and presenter, Dawes has written or edited books, book chapters, and articles and presented on a variety of topics at local, national, and international conferences.  
Dawes earned his Master of Library Science from Rutgers University and has two additional Master's Degrees in Educational Leadership and Educational Administration from Teachers College, Columbia University.

Pre-Conference Workshop

Diversity in Focus: New Lenses, New Frames, New Approach
In-Person Workshop: November 2, 2023, Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center, Lewis Center, Ohio

Presented by Shannon Simpson and Pamela Espinosa de los Monteros.


  • $65 ALAO/MiALA/OELMA Members
  • $90 Non ALAO Members
  • $38 ALAO Student Members/Retirees

Register Now!

Conference Events

Finding Balance: Hybrid Spaces, New Opportunities & Transformed Missions.

Conference events and offerings will include:

Learn More!

Join us for #2023alao!

Online ILS Forum & Mini-Conference: Friday, Oct 27, 2023 via Zoom

In-Person Conference: November 2-3, 2023, Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center, Lewis Center, Ohio

Early bird rates (through Sept. 18, 2023)

  • $130 ALAO/MiALA/OELMA Members
  • $160 Non ALAO Members
  • $77 ALAO Student Members/Retirees

Regular rates

  • $160 ALAO/MiALA/OELMA Members
  • $190 Non ALAO Members
  • $95 ALAO Student Members/Retirees

Online Only Conference Rates
(includes Oct. 27th ILS Forum & Mini Conference, Nov. 3 Keynote and Hybrid Sessions)

  • $50 ALAO/MiALA/OELMA Members
  • $56 Non ALAO Members
  • $25 ALAO Student Members/Retirees

Register Now!

About ALAO

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) is a chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). ALAO exists to develop, promote, and improve library and information services in Ohio’s higher education community, to advance the interests of academic librarianship and the personnel of academic libraries, and to provide leadership and advocacy for the educational and policy concerns of the academic library community in Ohio.

Community Agreements

The conference planners seek to create a space for respectful dialogue and debate about critical issues. Upon registration, attendees will be asked to review and accept a list of community agreements. Conference planners will actively strive to create spaces in which multiple perspectives can be heard and no one voice dominates. We welcome any and all suggestions that will make this a safe and productive space for all. Please contact Mark Eddy, the program chair, at

Who We Are

Members of the 2023 conference planning committee are:

  • Abigail Morgan, Miami University
  • Ann Marie Smeraldi, Cleveland State University
  • Cara Calabrese, Miami University
  • Don Appleby, University of Akron
  • Gerald (Jerry) Natal, The University of Toledo
  • Jason Wardell, University of Dayton
  • Ken Irwin, Miami University
  • Kristen Peters, Wittenberg University
  • Kristine Kinzer, Columbus State Community College
  • Mark Eddy, Case Western Reserve
  • Marsha Miles, Cleveland State University
  • Melissa Cox Norris, University of Cincinnati
  • Melissa Hill, Ohio Wesleyan University
  • Paul Campbell, Ohio University
  • Rob O'Brien Withers, Miami University
  • Sara Klink, Stark State College
  • Stephanie Hilles, Miami University

Copyright 2019 - Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software