Log in
Log in

ALAO 2023 Conference

Pre-Conference Workshop

Information Forthcoming!

Conference Registration

Registration information coming soon!


Information Forthcoming!

Call for Proposals

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) conference planning committee invites you to submit proposals for the 49th Annual Conference, Finding Balance - Hybrid Spaces, New Opportunities and Transformed Missions, Having spent the past few years radically adapting library services during the pandemic, library professionals are now actively exploring how to sustain a "new normal" for hybrid spaces, services, and collections where customer expectations have been transformed.

How do we sustain these new service modalities, and how will this shape our library and institutional missions? What new and exciting opportunities do these modalities present for each department and team in our libraries? We hope to facilitate robust discussions about how we can move forward, manage, and innovate in this new environment.

The proposal window has been extended, and proposals are now being accepted until May 1, 2023.

Submit Your Proposal!

About ALAO

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) is a chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). ALAO exists to develop, promote, and improve library and information services in Ohio’s higher education community, to advance the interests of academic librarianship and the personnel of academic libraries, and to provide leadership and advocacy for the educational and policy concerns of the academic library community in Ohio.

Community Agreements

The conference planners seek to create a space for respectful dialogue and debate about critical issues. Upon registration, attendees will be asked to review and accept a list of community agreements. Conference planners will actively strive to create spaces in which multiple perspectives can be heard and no one voice dominates. We welcome any and all suggestions that will make this a safe and productive space for all. Please contact Mark Eddy, the program chair, at

Who We Are

Members of the 2023 conference planning committee are:

  • Abigail Morgan, Miami University
  • Ann Marie Smeraldi, Cleveland State University
  • Cara Calabrese, Miami University
  • Don Appleby, University of Akron
  • Gerald (Jerry) Natal, The University of Toledo
  • Jason Wardell, University of Dayton
  • Ken Irwin, Miami University
  • Kristen Peters, Wittenberg University
  • Kristine Kinzer, Columbus State Community College
  • Mark Eddy, Case Western Reserve
  • Marsha Miles, Cleveland State University
  • Melissa Cox Norris, University of Cincinnati
  • Melissa Hill, Ohio Wesleyan University
  • Paul Campbell, Ohio University
  • Rob O'Brien Withers, Miami University
  • Sara Klink, Stark State College
  • Stephanie Hilles, Miami University

Copyright 2019 - Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software