Log in


Actively Inclusive: Libraries Speak Up!

2018 Spring Diversity Workshop

Thursday, May 10, 2018

The Academic Library Association of Ohio's Diversity Committee is pleased to announce that the Spring Diversity Workshop will be held at the State Library of Ohio on Thursday, May 10, 2018. The workshop will focus on libraries as leaders and supporters of inclusive communities. We are accepting proposals for sessions that will showcase libraries’ efforts toward reaching underserved and diverse populations, participating in challenging conversations in our communities, and promoting equity and inclusive practice. We anticipate presentations which last around 45 minutes. Proposals from all types of libraries and library staff in all roles are welcome.

Initial proposals should be 200 words in length and include a very brief bio of the presenter(s), as well as links to any publicly viewable electronic materials referenced. Visit here to submit your proposal: https://goo.gl/forms/nseH3J0MfdAIMJ003

The Diversity Committee will select from the proposals submitted. The deadline for submitting proposals is March 1, 2018.

Please email diversity@alaoweb.org with any questions.

Committee Purpose

The purpose of the Diversity Committee is to address various aspects of human diversity, including ethnic and racial; gender and disability issues; international or cross-cultural issues; gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues; and age. This Committee serves as an advisory group to ALAO to assist the organization in providing leadership for diversity by acting as a bridge to promote understanding across racial and cultural lines and to help foster and sustain diversity throughout the organization.


Past President, Public Relations Coordinator, and up to 5 ALAO members recruited by the Committee Chair and formally appointed by the President. See the ALAO Procedures Manual [www.alaoweb.org/procmanual/committees.html] for more information.

Committee Membership


  • Edith Scarletto, Bowling Green State University


  • Eric Resnis, Coastal Carolina University (Past President)
  • Michelle Brasseur, Wright State University (ALAO Public Relations Coordinator)
  • Krista McDonald, Miami University, 2018-2020

Recent Activities 

Diversity Resources

Copyright - Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software