Log in

Technical, Electronic, & Digital Services IG (TEDSIG)



TEDSIG was founded in 1993 as the Technical Services Interest Group (TSIG). The interest group’s name and scope was changed in June 2007 to Technical, Electronic, and Digital Services Interest Group (TEDSIG) to better reflect the evolving status of the group’s constituents in traditional and emerging technologies. TEDS, a white teddy bear, is the official mascot of TEDSIG.

Purpose, Goals, Objectives, and other guidelines: 

Consult the Procedures Manual.

TEDSIG Co-Chairs

  • The primary responsibility of the two (2) TEDSIG Co-Chairs is to increase opportunities for TEDS librarians and staff to participate in ALAO. This is accomplished through the delivery of member services such as program planning for the annual TEDS Meeting and the ALAO Conference, through the distribution of information of interest to TEDS librarians and staff, and in other ways.
  • TEDSIG Co-Chairs are elected by TEDSIG membership to two year terms, commencing in alternate years to facilitate overlap in leadership. TEDSIG Co-Chairs do not have to have previously served as Committee members, but it is recommended. If only one candidate for Co-Chair has stepped forward at the end of the call for candidates, the election will be considered uncontested. No formal vote will be held for an uncontested election. The candidate will automatically be elected as the next TEDSIG Co-Chair. Co-Chairs can serve an indefinite number of consecutive terms.
  • Members are expected to attend at least one meeting per year.  Meetings are held during the annual conference and at the annual TEDS Meeting.  Ad hoc meetings may be called at the discretion of the Co-Chairs to plan events or discuss topics of interest.  All other communication will take place electronically.
  • One Co-Chair will focus their activities on growing the ALAO TEDSIG membership and serve a one year term as TEDSIG Membership Chair.  The Membership Chair may be reappointed by the Co-Chairs for successive years.


For Distinguished Service by an ALAO member in the fields of Technical, Electronic and Digital Services.

The TEDDY recognizes an individual's significant contributions to the technical, electronic or digital services fields.  Contributions may include service, innovative practices, presentations, publications, and leadership in the profession.  The TEDDY is awarded annually at the ALAO Conference.   The award includes two waivers to a future TEDSIG event.

Nominees must be current ALAO members, who have worked in or are currently working in an Ohio academic library in the area of technical, electronic, or digital services.

TEDDY Award Past Recipients

2021 - Ken Irwin, Miami University

2020 - Derek Zoladz, OhioNET 

2019 - Jane Wildermuth, Wright State University 

 2018 - Stephanie Church, Case Western Reserve University

 2017 - Meghan Frazer, OhioLINK

 2016 - Rocki Strader, The Ohio State University Libraries

 2015 - Karen Plummer, University of Akron

 2013 - Jeanne Langendorfer, Bowling Green State University

 2011 - Anne Gilliland, The Ohio State University

 2010 - Eve Davis, EBSCO Information Services

 2009 - Deberah England, Wright State University

 2008 - Margaret Maurer, Kent State University

TEDS, the TEDSIG Mascot

TEDS, the TEDSIG mascot, was the brainchild of TEDSIG member Maureen Walsh (OSU) during a discussion at a TSIG meeting on January 26, 2007 about expanding the interest group's scope beyond technical services to include the fields of electronic resources and systems, and digital services. 

On May 2, 2008, TEDS, a white teddy bear sporting a TEDSIG t-shirt, made his debut at the TEDSIG Spring Meeting.  Fittingly, Maureen Walsh, who was speaking at the event, won the door prize and as such was the first recipient of a TEDS.  TEDS was awarded annually as part of the TEDDY Award until 2020.


Chris Deems (2020-22)

Systems & Technology Librarian
Ohio Northern University
Heterick Memorial Library
525 South Main Street
Ada, Ohio 45810
Phone: 419-772-2183
Email: c-deems@onu.edu

Jerry Yarnetsky (2021-23)

Web Services Librarian
Miami University
151 S. Campus Ave
Oxford OH 45056
Phone: 513-529-2129
Email: jerry.yarnetsky@miamioh.edu



Jerry Yarnetsky
Miami University


Chris Deems
Ohio Northern University


Derek C. Zoladz


Libby Hertenstein
Bowling Green


Lori Chapin
Miami University


Cara Calabrese
Miami University


Rich Wisneski
Cleveland State University


Kelly Kobiela
Ohio Northern University


Aimee deChambeau
University of Akron


Sharon Purtee
University of Cincinnati


Jennifer Bazeley
Miami University


Elias Tzoc
Miami University


Christopher Thornton
Case Western Reserve


Kiffany Francis
Cleveland State University


Rocki Strader
Ohio State University


Deberah England
Wright State University


Margaret Maurer
Kent State University


Jody Perkins
Miami University


Julie Gammon
University of Akron


Kevin Furniss
Denison University


Cynthia Whitacre


Anne Gilliland


Karen Wilhoit
Wright State University


George Johnston
University of Cincinnati


Cliff Glaviano
Bowling Green


Margo Warner
College of Wooster

Copyright - Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software