Log in

Featured Speaker

The keynote speaker for our 2022 conference is Alexia Hudson-Ward

Keynote Theme:  Active Allyship in Action

Click here for slides from the Keynote

This keynote session will inspire attendees to advance active allyship practices within and outside their libraries. Attendees will learn about significant misconceptions of allyship that thwart organizational and institutional transformation. Addressing the systemic nature of bias and privilege is just the beginning of engaging in the meaningful work of active allyship. Consequently, attendees will be encouraged to pursue people-centered approaches that are data-driven and sustainable.

Supported by our generous Gold Level sponsors

Alexia Hudson-Ward

Alexia Hudson-Ward (pronouns: she/her) is the Associate Director of Research and Learning of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Libraries. Her past roles include serving as the Azariah Smith Root Director of Libraries for Oberlin College, a Penn State University tenured librarian, an award-winning entertainment editor, public radio promotions coordinator, and a Coca-Cola Company marketing manager.

 Alexia is the inaugural Editor-in-Chief of Towards Inclusive Leadership (TIE), hosted by Choice Editions – a popular multimedia blog dedicated to illuminating insights-to-action diversity-centered research and discourse. She contributes service to the librarianship, cultural heritage, and educational communities by serving as a trustee of the Corning Museum of Glass and on the Board of Directors for The Center for Research Libraries, LYRASIS, and The Conversation U.S. Edition.
The recipient of several honors, including being named one of fifty "Mover and Shakers" by Library Journal in 2008, Alexia is a member of the American Antiquarian Society, the MIT Libraries’ representative to the MIT Press Editorial Board, and an Advisory Board member of the Andrew W. Mellon Society of Fellows in Critical Bibliography. She is also a Harvard University Graduate School of Education Leadership Institute for Academic Librarians faculty member.
She received an MLIS degree from the University of Pittsburgh & a B.A. in English Literature and African American Studies from Temple University, and holds certificates in change leadership and negotiation from Cornell University and the MIT Sloan School of Management, respectively. She is currently a Simmons University doctoral candidate in the Managerial Leadership in the Information Professions program.

Pre-Conference Workshop

Registration is now closed

  • $85 ALAO/MiALA Members
  • $115 Non ALAO Members
  • $0 Invited Guests, code required

Register Now!

Conference Registration

Registration is now closed

Early bird rates (CLOSED on 10/1)

  • $135 ALAO/MiALA Members
  • $165 Non ALAO Members

Regular rates

  • $165 ALAO/MiALA Members
  • $195 Non ALAO Members
  • $100 ALAO Student Members/Retirees
  • $90 CPC Members, code required
  • $0 Conference Volunteer, code required
  • $0 Invited Guests, code required

Register Now!

About ALAO

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) is a chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). ALAO exists to develop, promote, and improve library and information services in Ohio’s higher education community, to advance the interests of academic librarianship and the personnel of academic libraries, and to provide leadership and advocacy for the educational and policy concerns of the academic library community in Ohio.

Community Agreements

The conference planners seek to create a space for respectful dialogue and debate about critical issues. Upon registration, attendees will be asked to review and accept a list of community agreements. Conference planners will actively strive to create spaces in which multiple perspectives can be heard and no one voice dominates. We welcome any and all suggestions that will make this a safe and productive space for all. Please contact Gerald Natal, the program chair, at president@alaoweb.org.

Who We Are

Members of the 2022 conference planning committee are:

  • Allen Reichert, Otterbein University
  • Ann Marie Smeraldi, Cleveland State University
  • Cara Calabrese, Miami University
  • Don Appleby, University of Akron
  • Gerald (Jerry) Natal, The University of Toledo
  • Kathy Fisher, Ursuline College
  • Katie Maxfield, Wittenberg University
  • Katy Tucker, Xavier University
  • Ken Irwin, Miami University
  • Mark Eddy, Case Western Reserve
  • Melissa Cox Norris, University of Cincinnati
  • Paul Campbell, Ohio University
  • Peggy Rector, Denison University
  • Rob O'Brien Withers, Miami University
  • Sara Klink, Stark State College
  • Seth Sisler, Ohio University

Copyright 2019 - Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software