Log in

About The 2017 ALAO Conference

Libraries Act. Respond. Transform: The ART of Empowerment

Libraries Act. Respond. Transform: The ART of Empowerment
The Academic Library Association of Ohio’s Annual Conference
Friday, Oct. 27, 2017
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center, Columbus, Ohio

Preconference Workshop

Thursday, Oct. 26, 2017

The conference’s 28 programs and additional poster sessions and roundtable discussions will explore how academic libraries and librarians provide resources and initiate programs, partnerships, and policies that empower patrons, staff, and stakeholders while advancing equity and social justice.

At the pre-"UNconference” on Oct. 26, a representative from the Ohio chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) will present on student rights, leading into an “unconference” with topics preselected by attendees.

Conference hashtag: #alao2017 @ALAOorg


The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) is a chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). ALAO exists to develop, promote, and improve library and information services in Ohio’s higher education community, to advance the interests of academic librarianship and the personnel of academic libraries, and to provide leadership and advocacy for the educational and policy concerns of the academic library community in Ohio.

The 2017 ALAO Conference Planning Committee is dedicated to providing a safe space for all attendees. As we work within the confines of the resources of the venue already chosen for the conference, we pledge to make every effort to consider: sustainability, inclusiveness, social justice, and other factors affecting our attendees We’re open to any comments or questions you may have. Contact the conference program chair Katy Kelly at kkelly2@udayton.edu.


Conference Program: To be green, we will not be printing the entire program for all attendees. An interactive PDF of the conference program is available on the conference website, so you can download it to your device or print what you need to bring with you. You will receive a printed schedule grid and venue map in your conference welcome packet.

Special Accommodations: If you noted dietary restrictions or accessibility needs on your registration form, we will contact you soon after Oct. 10 with more information.

Book Drive Service Project: We are pleased to partner with The Conscious Connect, Inc. for our conference service project. The Conscious Connect, Inc. is a 21st Century innovative urban library ecosystem that creates and sustains literary oases in low-to-moderate income neighborhoods and communities to end book deserts. Books from this book drive will be distributed predominantly throughout West Dayton and South Springfield. Please visit our book drive registry for a list of specific titles the organization needs, as these are the only titles we will collect the day of the conference. You can also make a monetary donation by using the Gofundme link included on the registry (we are unable to process monetary donations at the conference).


  • We encourage attendees to carpool to and from the conference to reduce pollution.
  • We encourage attendees to bring their own refillable water bottles and coffee mugs to the conference to reduce waste.
  • The committee will be very intentional about what we choose to print. As such, stay tuned for details about electronic conference programs, evaluations and more.


The conference planners seek to create a space for respectful dialogue and debate about critical issues. Upon registration, attendees will be asked to review and accept a list of community agreements. Conference planners will actively strive to create spaces in which multiple perspectives can be heard and no one voice dominates. We welcome any and all suggestions that will make this a safe and productive space for all. Please contact Katy Kelly, the program chair, at kkelly2@udayton.edu.


The 2017 ALAO conference planning committee is committed to hosting an event that explores issues related to social justice in academic libraries. Members are:

  • Katy Kelly, University of Dayton (Chair)
  • Don Appleby, University of Akron
  • Maureen Barry, Wright State University
  • Michelle Brasseur, Wright State University
  • Cara Calabrese, Miami University
  • Judith Cerqua, The Ohio State University
  • Ione Damasco, University of Dayton
  • Erin Fleak, The Ohio State University
  • Carrie Girton, Miami University Hamilton
  • Eric Johnson, Miami University
  • Jennifer Kremyar, Case Western Reserve University
  • Bree Miller, Columbus State Community College
  • Peggy Rector, Denison University
  • Rob Withers, Miami University
  • Derek C. Zoladz, OhioNET

Copyright - Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software