Log in
Log in

Featured Speaker

Sponsored by: OhioNET     

The keynote speaker for the 2019 conference is Char Booth

Keynote Theme:  Leading for Change: Justice-Based Advocacy In Libraries 

Char Booth, pronouns: they/them/their

Char Booth is Associate Dean of the Library at CSU San Marcos and an ACRL Immersion Institute facilitator. Char’s work explores the intersection of pedagogy, advocacy, and design in libraries. Char was previously the Director of Research, Teaching, and Learning Services at the Claremont Colleges Library, and has held positions at the University of California at Berkeley and Ohio University. Char’s publications include the Ilene F. Rockman Award-winning Reflective Teaching, Effective Learning: Instructional Literacy for Library Educators (ALA Editions) and Informing Innovation: Tracking Student Interest in Emerging Library Technologies (ACRL).

Friday, October 18, 2019
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center, Columbus, Ohio


Pre-conference Workshop

  • $85 ALAO/MiALA Members    
  • $115 Non ALAO Members
  • $0 Invited Guests, code required

Register Now!

Ally Training:

  • FREE for ALAO Members

Register Now!

Conference Registration

(Early bird registration closed)

  • $165 ALAO/MiALA Members
  • $195 Non ALAO Members
  • $100 ALAO Student Members/Retirees
  • $90 CPC Members, code required
  • $0 Conference Volunteer, code required
  • $0 Invited Guests, code required

Register Now!


  • $300 Standard Exhibitor Package
  • $100 Non-Profit Exhibitor Package
  • $90 Additional Attendees
  • Platinum and Diamond Sponsors
Register Now!

About ALAO

The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) is a chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). ALAO exists to develop, promote, and improve library and information services in Ohio’s higher education community, to advance the interests of academic librarianship and the personnel of academic libraries, and to provide leadership and advocacy for the educational and policy concerns of the academic library community in Ohio.


  • We encourage attendees to carpool to and from the conference to reduce pollution.
  • We encourage attendees to bring their own refillable water bottles and coffee mugs to the conference to reduce waste.
  • The committee will be very intentional about what we choose to print. As such, stay tuned for details about electronic conference programs, evaluations and more.

Community Agreements

The conference planners seek to create a space for respectful dialogue and debate about critical issues. Upon registration, attendees will be asked to review and accept a list of community agreements. Conference planners will actively strive to create spaces in which multiple perspectives can be heard and no one voice dominates. We welcome any and all suggestions that will make this a safe and productive space for all. Please contact Katy Mathuews, the program chair.

Who We Are

Members of the 2019 conference planning committee are:

  • Katy Mathuews, Ohio Univeristy (Chair)
  • Don Appleby, University of Akron
  • Christina Beis, University of Dayton
  • Laura Birkenhauer, Miami University
  • Michelle Brasseur, Wright State University
  • Heather Crozier, Ohio Northern University 
  • Chris Deems, Ohio Northern University 
  • Carrie Girton, Miami University Hamilton
  • Myra Justus, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
  • Anne Kumer, Case Western Reserve University 
  • Gerald Natal, University of Toledo
  • Adam Randolph, Wright State University
  • Allen Reichert, Otterbein University 
  • Mandy Shannon, Wright State University
  • Daniela Solomon, Case Western Reserve University
  • Shelby Stuart, Case Western Reserve University
  • Rob Withers, Miami University 

Copyright 2019 - Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software