Academic Library Association of Ohio
 About               Join/Renew
              Donate               ALAO on FacebookALAO on TwitterALAO Website Photo AlbumALAO Blog


Pre-conference Workshop:  Register Now!

$85 ALAO/MiALA Members    

$115 Non ALAO Members

$0 Invited Guests, code required

Ally Training: Register Now!

FREE for ALAO Members


Conference Early Bird (June 17-Aug 23):  Register Now!

$135 ALAO/MiALA Members

$165 Non ALAO Members

$100 ALAO Student Members/Retirees


Regular Rates (After Aug 23):

$165 ALAO/MiALA Members

$195 Non ALAO Members

$100 ALAO Student Members/Retirees

$90 CPC Members, code required

$0 Conference Volunteer, code required

$0 Invited Guests, code required


Libraries Speak Up! Advocate. Collaborate. Educate.

The Academic Library Association of Ohio’s Annual Conference

Friday, October 18, 2019

Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center, Columbus, Ohio

Preconference Workshop and Ally Training

Thursday, October 17, 2019

The conference’s  programs and poster sessions will highlight the myriad of ways we respectfully, effectively, and equitably speak up for our profession, our libraries, and our patrons through advocacy, collaboration, and education.

Conference hashtag: #alao2019 @ALAOorg


The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) is a chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). ALAO exists to develop, promote, and improve library and information services in Ohio’s higher education community, to advance the interests of academic librarianship and the personnel of academic libraries, and to provide leadership and advocacy for the educational and policy concerns of the academic library community in Ohio.


  • We encourage attendees to carpool to and from the conference to reduce pollution.
  • We encourage attendees to bring their own refillable water bottles and coffee mugs to the conference to reduce waste.
  • The committee will be very intentional about what we choose to print. As such, stay tuned for details about electronic conference programs, evaluations and more.


The conference planners seek to create a space for respectful dialogue and debate about critical issues. Upon registration, attendees will be asked to review and accept a list of community agreements. Conference planners will actively strive to create spaces in which multiple perspectives can be heard and no one voice dominates. We welcome any and all suggestions that will make this a safe and productive space for all. Please contact Katy Mathuews, the program chair.


Members of the 2019 conference planning committee are:
  • Katy Mathuews, Ohio Univeristy (Chair)
  • Don Appleby, University of Akron
  • Christina Beis, University of Dayton
  • Laura Birkenhauer, Miami University
  • Michelle Brasseur, Wright State University
  • Heather Crozier, Ohio Northern University 
  • Chris Deems, Ohio Northern University 
  • Carrie Girton, Miami University Hamilton
  • Myra Justus, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
  • Anne Kumer, Case Western Reserve University 
  • Gerald Natal, University of Toledo
  • Adam Randolph, Wright State University
  • Allen Reichert, Otterbein University 
  • Mandy Shannon, Wright State University
  • Daniela Solomon, Case Western Reserve University
  • Shelby Stuart, Case Western Reserve University
  • Rob Withers, Miami University 

© Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO), A Chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library Association

Contact a Board Member
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software