Log in
Log in
  • Home
  • ALAO 2018 Conference

ALAO 2018 Conference


Take Action! Conveying Value, Cultivating Success

The Academic Library Association of Ohio’s Annual Conference

Friday, November 2, 2018
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center, Columbus, Ohio

Preconference Workshop

Thursday, November 1, 2018

The conference’s  programs and poster sessions will explore our impact on student engagement, student learning and student success.

Conference hashtag: #alao2018 @ALAOorg


ALAO is partnering with The Open Shelter, Inc. in Columbus to provide new hats, gloves, scarves and socks for those impacted by homelessness as temperatures begin to drop. Conference attendees can drop off donations in the bins provided at the registration table on November 2. Questions? Contact Maureen Barry, ALAO Membership Chair at


The Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO) is a chapter of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL). ALAO exists to develop, promote, and improve library and information services in Ohio’s higher education community, to advance the interests of academic librarianship and the personnel of academic libraries, and to provide leadership and advocacy for the educational and policy concerns of the academic library community in Ohio.


  • We encourage attendees to carpool to and from the conference to reduce pollution.
  • We encourage attendees to bring their own refillable water bottles and coffee mugs to the conference to reduce waste.
  • The committee will be very intentional about what we choose to print. As such, stay tuned for details about electronic conference programs, evaluations and more.


The conference planners seek to create a space for respectful dialogue and debate about critical issues. Upon registration, attendees will be asked to review and accept a list of community agreements. Conference planners will actively strive to create spaces in which multiple perspectives can be heard and no one voice dominates. We welcome any and all suggestions that will make this a safe and productive space for all. Please contact Eric Resnis, the program chair.


Members of the 2018 conference planning committee are:

  • Eric Resnis, Coastal Carolina University (Chair)
  • Don Appleby, University of Akron
  • Maureen Barry, Wright State University
  • Jennifer Bazeley, Miami University
  • Laura Birkenhauer, Miami University
  • Michelle Brasseur, Wright State University
  • Erin Fleak, The Ohio State University
  • Carrie Girton, Miami University Hamilton
  • Peggy Rector, Denison University
  • Ryan Scott, Columbus State Community College
  • Bethany Spieth, Ohio Northern University

Copyright - Academic Library Association of Ohio (ALAO)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software